Why I (a generation Y) quit Facebook.

So this is a bit of a rant.

DISCLAIMER: I’m not a credible source of anything. I’m not a Scientist, Psychologist I’m just a student who likes to read and write and so whilst I am not a credible source of information/someone you can quote, my thoughts and views are relevant because I am a human being. They may make you think; which is why I share them.

We all know to some extent the little issues with Facebook but all too often we brush them aside thinking that they’re insignificant and minor but often to our own disadvantage. Because the impact that Facebook actually has on our lives is massive and the problems that it creates are actually too big to ignore. I have been disconnected for nearly a year but then decided to (gasp) re-join and see what’s new.What I found?

  • That nothing/nobody has really changed. People are still posting the same types of passive aggressive posts and filtering their pics to look a little better. I don’t know why I thought things would be different-maybe because we’d grown and experienced a lot of things in those months, those changes would be reflected in what we post. Maybe not…
  • It really has become the perfect platform to project too many biased messages and advertisements. Most of the stuff on there is not made to make us think but to tell us what to think. That’s a dangerous environment to immerse yourself in.
  • There were so many people who added me as a friend yet would not  E V E R talk to me if we crossed paths in the street. If you really want to know what’s going on in my life, let’s grab a coffee and talk. If you don’t really care, then why are we Facebook friends.
  • Everything I said came off very passive aggressive. Often we give a lot of thought and thus change a message we want to share but in doing so lose the authenticity behind our words. Facebook simply didn’t help me be honest.

On that note, Here are the 4 main reasons why I quit Facebook and recommended most people do so too:

  1. The quickest way to get to know someone is not always the best. We too often use Facebook as that starter-pack to see what someone is into, any mutual friends etc. But in face-to-face we learn and share so much more, remember and appreciate so much more about each other.
  2. It has forced me to enrich the relationships I have and that really matter. Quality over Quantity . I realised that 95% of the friends I had on Facebook don’t really care about me. That’s a weird fact I feel as if we all know but in order to fully appreciate that impact on your life, take a break off of it.
  3. It’s draining to keep up with appearances. At least for me. Social Media gives us the opportunity to share our lives but we’ve headed into dangerous territory when we begin to share too much and make our lives interesting for the sake of being able to post it and not just to enjoy it. FB projects the image of ourselves that we want others to see. But slowly many end up trying to live up to that image in real life; many of us lose our authenticity in trying to conform. Drains energy and waaaaay more time than you realise. Time you could be thinking, dreaming, writing, reading, singing, talking, laughing, experiencing and living.
  4. What is the point in having it if you don’t even use it. It is still possible to keep up with world news, watch funny videos, see family and friends’ pictures without having to log into a time-energy draining vortex. If you don’t want to delete it because you’re afraid of seeming like a hipster then that says more about your ideals as a conformist. Just saying.

In the first months I deleted FB it was a weird sensation to take great pictures and realise I don’t have anywhere to post them, get peoples’ approval/opinion or just make it public. It was liberating. Suddenly, I was taking pictures and documenting experiences for my eyes only. As a sentimental person, pictures do mean a lot to me. So I printed them all off (5p per print) and bought an album where I still keep hold of those memories physically. I was still a part of school group chats (on WhatsApp) and (GASP) remembered people’s birthdays. It really wasn’t that hard.

I don’t think that everybody should suddenly quit Facebook. I’m just suggesting everyone try deactivating it for a while and truly realise your dependency on it. Do your own social experiment and see how life changes- you can always go back. If we as individuals and society want to re-discover what’s really important to us, we need to be ready to do what it takes. To disconnect to reconnect. To dare to be different. Why? Because it is when we are stripped of our luxuries to our core, do we realise what really need.

I admit when I first deleted FB I felt a little sad and lonely because I realised I didn’t have that many true friends. (#ForeverAlone)  As someone who values relationships that was deep. But those who were really meant to be in my life stayed and messaged me and that was the greatest thing about deleting my Facebook. Making amazing memories with amazing people and living totally in the moment.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

